OZG

Let's make the desert green!

number of [...] reforested

Join us!

11 Apr – Mission April 2018   more news

desolate

the desert advances

There is a transition zone at the north and south side of the Sahara: the Sahel. Something can still grow there, but on bare patches, the alternating heat and hard rain makes the ground hard as rock. Seeds can no longer germinate there, and rain no longer seeps into the soil. This causes remaining vegetation in the area to be lost, soon followed by the trees. What follows is erosion, further degrading the land...

Read more about desertification >>

our approach

Nature can no longer cope on its own here. That's why OZG has been working on reforestation with positive impacts for both people and climate, since 10 years ago.

We make agreements with the local population, and then we can get started. We cut open the ground with a specialized plow, creating half moons in the earth crust. Next, we pay a team of local women to sow seeds in them, just before the rainy season. The half moons serve as water reservoir for the young trees, grasses and herbs.

Read more about our approach >>

delphino plough
forest and women economy

there is hope!

With this methodology, we realize a range of positive impacts. Biodiversity increases, both in flora and fauna. The ground water level increases, allowing better wells, giving children more time for school as they no longer have to walk for miles to get water. The crops are used for food, both for own needs as well as for sale. There is a excess of grasses, allowing cattle to graze as much as they like, allowing them to grow fatter, which in turn makes them more valuable on the market. Grasses are also processed into baskets, mats and brushes; honey is collected, gum production can start up; etcera... In short: a young economy is created, truly creating prosperity.

Read more about the achieved impacts >>

OZG SDG circle
OZG supports the SDGs

Building a sustainable world

It's not just about the trees and the forests...

We have successfully developed a sustainable reforestation project in Burkina Faso from 2007 to 2017. This project is now continued by a local organisation, as we are starting up in our next country: Senegal.

Read about the range of positive impacts that are realized:

1 Desertification is halted

Our forests form a green buffer zone. The grasses and herbs prevent erosion by wind and water, and the trees drop shadows that protect the ground against drying out.

2 Better water management

The low vegetation makes it so that the rain can more easily seep into the earth. Thanks to this effect, water wells can be less deep in a wide surrounding area. This allows only the surface water to be used by the population, keeping the deeper, fossile water safe as a reserve for the future.

3 More biodiversity

The biodiversity increases enormously. Both in flora and fauna: ants, termites, birds, the sulcata tortoise (a threatened animal), rabbits, hares, other small rodents... Even the wild cat and the hyena, not seen for a long time, return to their original habitat.

4 Food for everyone

Argiculture is made possible thanks to the cooler temperatues in the forest, the improved water management and the fertilising of the earth by the animals. Once more, enough food can be produced, which also reduces conflicts between farmers and nomads. The cows have enough grasses to graze on, preventing them from damaging the crop fields.

5 Blooming young economy

Food excesses from vegetables, fruit and herbs are sold on the local markets. The cattle provides higher yields because it is fatter. The production of honey, gum etc, as well as the refinement of forest products lead to a higher family budget.

6 Better chances thanks to education

Thanks to the higher living standards, mothers can afford the school money for their children. The vicious circle is broken: the younger generation can build their own future.

7 Enterprising women

The labor on the land is greatly depending on women. Only the women are paid for harvesting the seed mix. They can support their families with it. Thanks to this financial indepence, women get a bigger voice in the village. There are even indications that there is a decreasing influence on the birth rate.

OZG

Let's make the desert green!

number of [...] reforested

Join us!

11 avr. – Mission avril 2018   plus de nouvelles

desolate

le désert avance

Il existe une zone de transition au nord et au sud du Sahara: le Sahel. Quelque chose peut encore pousser là, mais sur des plaques nues, la chaleur alternée et la pluie dure rendent le sol dur comme du roc. Les graines ne peuvent plus y germer et la pluie ne s'infiltre plus dans le sol. Cela provoque la perte de la végétation restante dans la région, bientôt suivie par les arbres. Ce qui suit est l'érosion, dégradant davantage la terre ...

En savoir plus sur la désertification >>

notre projet

La nature ne peut plus se débrouiller seule ici. C'est pourquoi OZG travaille sur le reboisement avec des impacts positifs pour les gens et le climat, depuis 10 ans.

Nous concluons des ententes avec la population locale, puis nous pouvons commencer. Nous coupons le sol avec une charrue spécialisée, créant des demi-lunes dans la croûte terrestre. Ensuite, nous payons une équipe de femmes locales pour semer des graines, juste avant la saison des pluies. Les demi-lunes servent de réservoir d'eau pour les jeunes arbres, les herbes et les herbes.

En savoir plus sur la désertification >>

delphino plough
forest and women economy

Il y a de l'espoir!

Avec cette méthodologie, nous réalisons une gamme d'impacts positifs. La biodiversité augmente, à la fois dans la flore et la faune. Le niveau de l'eau souterraine augmente, ce qui permet de meilleurs puits, donnant aux enfants plus de temps pour l'école car ils n'ont plus à marcher pendant des kilomètres pour avoir de l'eau. Les cultures sont utilisées pour la nourriture, à la fois pour les besoins propres et pour la vente. Il y a un excès de graminées, ce qui permet aux bovins de pâturer autant qu'ils veulent, ce qui leur permet de grossir, ce qui les rend plus précieux sur le marché. Les herbes sont également traitées dans des paniers, des nattes et des brosses; le miel est collecté, la production de gomme peut démarrer; etcera ... En bref: une jeune économie est créée, créant véritablement la prospérité.

En savoir plus sur les impacts réalisés >>

OZG SDG circle
OZG supports the SDGs

Construire un monde durable

Il ne s'agit pas seulement des arbres et des forêts ...

Nous avons développé avec succès un projet de reboisement durable au Burkina Faso de 2007 à 2017. Ce projet est maintenant poursuivi par une organisation locale, puisque nous démarrons dans notre prochain pays: le Sénégal.

Lisez à propos de la gamme des impacts positifs qui sont réalisés:

1 La désertification est arrêtée

Our forests form a green buffer zone. The grasses and herbs prevent erosion by wind and water, and the trees drop shadows that protect the ground against drying out.

2 Meilleure gestion de l'eau

La végétation basse permet à l'eau de pluie de pénétrer plus facilement dans la couche supérieure. Dans une zone plus large, cela signifie moins de forage en profondeur pour les puits. Il garantit également que seule l'eau de surface est utilisée, de sorte que l'eau fossilisée plus profonde est préservée comme réserve pour l'avenir.

3 Plus de biodiversité

La biodiversité augmente énormément. Tant dans la faune et la flore: fourmis, termites, oiseaux, la tortue sulcata (un animal menacé), les lapins, les lièvres, les autres petits rongeurs ... Même le chat sauvage et l'hyène, pas vu depuis longtemps, retournent à leur origine habitat.

4 Nourriture pour tous

L'argiculture est rendue possible grâce aux températures plus fraîches dans la forêt, à la gestion améliorée de l'eau et à la fertilisation de la terre par les animaux. Une fois de plus, suffisamment de nourriture peut être produite, ce qui réduit également les conflits entre agriculteurs et nomades. Les vaches ont suffisamment d'herbes pour les faire paître, ce qui les empêche d'endommager les champs de culture.

5 Jeune économie florissante

Les excès alimentaires de légumes, de fruits et d'herbes sont vendus sur les marchés locaux. Le bétail fournit des rendements plus élevés parce qu'il est plus gros. La production de miel, de gomme, etc. peut commencer, ainsi que le raffinement des produits forestiers conduisent à un budget familial plus élevé.

6 De meilleures chances grâce à l'éducation

Grâce à un niveau de vie plus élevé, les mères peuvent se permettre de payer l'école pour leurs enfants. Le cercle vicieux est rompu: la jeune génération peut construire son propre avenir.

7 Femmes entreprenantes

Le travail sur la terre dépend grandement des femmes. Seules les femmes sont payées pour la récolte du mélange de semences. Ils peuvent soutenir leurs familles avec leur paiement. Grâce à cette indépendance financière, les femmes ont une plus grande voix dans le village. Il y a même des indications qu'il y a une influence décroissante sur le taux de natalité.